Love, life & everything's else in between, motivation and inspiration, personal

#QOTD #48

I got this random message from one of my closest girlfriends the other morning and it just made me realize how important it is for one to choose the people they keep around them. This message literally brightened up my whole day.



Tonight, I got invited by another close girl friend of mine to attend a fundraiser for such an amazing organization. I’m busy working on doing some research on this phenomenal org and will definitely be sharing it with you all. The night comprised local and international acts of singing, poetry and comedy. All in the name of encouraging normal folk like you and I to get involved do our part in making our community a better place to live and grow in. But I will dedicate an entire post to giving the 411 on this amazing org.

Moving along, These two gestures from my girlfriends have inspired the quote of today:

Associate yourself with people of good quality. For it is better to be alone than in bad company

~ Booker T Washington 

I absolutely agree. 

You are, who you hang around with and that’s a fact.

We often hear the old folk say : if you lie with dogs, you bound to wake up with fleas. They knew what they were talking about. 

I’ve got a lot of wrongs to right, but one thing I’ve always been blessed with, is my support structure. My circle of real friends has grown significantly smaller over the years, but the bond between my friends and I, has grown so much stronger. 

We are each other’s strength, courage, sight, logic, comic, sister, stylist, driver, shrink, cheer leader, confidence, entertainment and even a target. The beauty lies in that even when we make each other so mad, when it comes to the wire, we don’t  have to question who will be there and who wouldn’t. 

These are the people we need in our lives, the ones who we can love when they’re down and when they’re up and the ones who can love us at our worst through to us being our best. 

Your friends should ultimately push you to be and do better. And I can confidently say that mine do all of the above, even when I’m stubborn as a Muel. 

So on that note, let’s take some time  to reflect on the people we deem close to us. Let’s look at the character of the people we call friends pay more attention to those whom we let into our circle. It may seem trivial, but it is so important.


❤️and 🌈 from just an ordinary girl 

Leave a Reply

