Love, life & everything's else in between, motivation and inspiration, personal

#QOTD #47


Today I had a rather interesting and rather challenging interaction with somebody. This interaction inspired the quote of today and I hope this quote will help you, especially in situations that may evoke anger.

I say an Interesting interaction because it’s amazing to see how an ego trip can literally make a person feel entitled to the point of belittling a fellow human being, one whom they’ve never met…

I say it was an Interesting interaction because we’re so consumed with being “seen” in a certain light amongst other people, that we would literally go to extreme lengths to achieve a specific label or just to prove a point… to somebody who you probably never speak to again in your life! ( pathetic I know! )

I describe the interaction as Challenging, because those who know me, know that I am very verbal. Because I hate bottling things in, I say how I feel then and there… and well then it’s done, no festering of volatile emotions, no venom infecting my spirituality, zilch! 

This isn’t always helpful in situations and over the years, I’ve learnt that there’s a time and place for everything and also that not every battle needs to be fought. 

I’m generally a no-nonsense kinda girl and still have emotional triggers that can cause me to become temprimental. One of these triggers are idiots who feel patronizing somebody else just to execute power is ok by speaking to folk in a condescing tone. I promise you! I can literally go from lady to a savage  beast in 0.5seconds when I witness this. 

Today? I was on the receiving end. But I was pleasantly surprised at how I handled the situation. I suppose it comes with the numerous attempts of trying to be a better, stronger version of myself. A version that plays this game called life by God and my rules only

My intellect was questioned, my competencies were faulted, I was insulted and this person was just a rude, arrogant, shovenist who couldn’t get his own way and so typically started throwing his toys out the cot.  ..this is an example of a typical “man” in our generation. #sigh

And How did I respond?

With a smile and  “it’s your opinion and I respect it”

I think this ticked him off even more because he realized that that’s all it is, an opinion. One he clearly felt strongly about. I suppose I challenged him because he didn’t respond to what I was actually saying, but rather responded by insulting my capabilities. 

And it was actually ok. Even though i had to work harder at some points during our interaction to keep my composure. All I wanted to do was tell him exactly what I thought of men of his caliber.

I finally learnt what is it not to be  reduced by others. I experienced what victory  felt like because as much as he left that convo feeling like he was the don…it had to take him numerous blows to try to get the reaction he was looking for, which he didn’t end up getting.

And this brings us to the quote of the day:

“He who angers you, controls you”

~ Prophet Muhamed ( may Peace and blessings be upon him) 

It’s an amazing feeling seeing the fruits of my spiritual journey. I love the woman I’m evolving into and whilst it may not always be 🌹s and 🌈s, this feeling of the victory I felt is one I can enjoy getting used to.


No person is worth you dropping your standards, especially when you’re being used to brush their ego. You deserve to sit on your throne and to not be shaken or moved by irrelevant people. 

…Because he who angers you,  literally controls you and really, they  don’t deserve that kind of power over you! 

Love and light always, from just an ordinary girl h

Leave a Reply

