community work, Love, life & everything's else in between, motivation and inspiration, personal

#QOTD #43

They say that the greatest emotional need of man kind is to feel appreciated. I came accross this quote and I can see why!  I believe in it’s truth! 

“Trade your expectation for appreciation and the world changes instantly”

~ Tony Robbins 

How often do WE EXPECT people to do things for us before we feel obliged to say thank you, or to show appreciation? 

If their actions don’t meet our expectation, sorry. Tough! We disregard their attempts and in some instances throw a couple of insults their way. Totally disregarding their efforts. ( I’m guilty of this sometimes)

It becomes so easy to overlook their efforts because all we care about is “I” and “me”. Buggar them or what they feel right? 

We tend to show appreciation on condition. On condition of material gain and superficial standards. We often feel entitled like somebody always owes us something, it’s actually revolting when you think of it. 

I always say, that our generation doesn’t know about fixing things; we don’t know about peservering and going after the things that actually matter. Hear me out, the minute we feel something is “broken” we’re quick to toss it out ... because we don’t know how to appreciate. I see it everyday, failing relationships, ruthless behavior, vandalizing, kids absconding school… the list is endless.

These days we appreciate things and use people. For as long as we’re gaining, we all good. Right?

I often ask myself where we have gone wrong! Why must we wait to gain before we can express gratitude? Why cant we be fulfilled with the little things in life and the small kind gestures people do, whether it is for us or our communities at large? 

It’s so easy to rather find fault in each other, than identify and appreciate the good within us all. Then we die, and suddenly the flowers, well wishes, memories and gratitude start flooding in, too late if you ask me!

This is why I believe in today’s quote so much. Imagine a world where we appreciate people and use things instead? Saying please and thank you and sincerely meaning it? Letting our loved ones know how we appreciate the good things that they do, as opposed to constantly harping on the not so good and the things that irk us?

If we can get this sentiment right and raise our little humans in the same fashion, you won’t get as much failing relationships, vandalizing of community buildings or even kids absconding school.  They will learn to appreciate every opportunity awarded to them…. gaining knowledge and then power and since they are our future, imagine how our world can change? The possibilities are endless.

Like everything else, it starts with you and I. My person and I have an appreciation session once a week, where we tell each other the things we’re appreciated in that week and we say our thank you’s. I swear, that feeling of being appreciated and expressing appreciation is better than any high that any drug can give.

Wrapping this up, I would just like to sincerely thank each and every one of you for the constant support. I would not be motivated to continue striving each day if it weren’t for your kind words, time and daily support. I appreciate it and I appreciate you. 

Let’s be like pinky and the brain and start changing the world! Because remember, the world owes us sh%t!


L&L, from just an ordinary girl  

Leave a Reply

