Girl power, Love, life & everything's else in between, motivation and inspiration, music

Who is she?

I see my entire journey as an artist and musician as a road to developing and understanding purpose

~ Red Robyn


I haven’t done a feature blog in forever, this being one of the very many reasons that I’m particularly stoked about this one. I think it is fitting that I published this considering that it is our National Youth day. In hope that this can inspire our youth to chase their dreams, work hard and remain humble.

Journey with me as we explore and get to know an artist and a musician whose popularity is gaining all the right kinds of momentum on our social media streets.

Her music, authentic pic gallery, sentimentality and kind nature are just a few of the stitches that make the Red Robyn quilt.

I was privileged enough to make her acquaintance and felt obliged to do this feature. The world needs to know about her so please stay with us till the end.

The Gist

Name: Ashleigh Robyn De Gee
Age: 22
Hometown: Bluff, Durban South Africa
Schools attended: Brighton Beach Primary & Grosvenor Girls High School
Tertiary institute attended: University of KwaZulu Natal (UKZN)

Course studied
: Bachelor of Arts in Music and Drama performance and currently an honors student in drama and performance studies (#Levels)
Hobbies:

  • Gardening
  • Flower arrangements
  • Drawing
  • Collaging with old pictures (can you see why I was instantly drawn to her? but wait! there’s more)

Favorite food (My favorite question): Pasta & Curries
Favorite artists ( I was sold when she answered this question): 

  • Nai Palm from Haitus Kayote
  • Erykah Badu
  • Corine Bailey Rae
  • Kendrick Lamar
  • Chance the rapper
  • Nomane gypsy

Find her interesting yet? read along for more insight.If love, light and sentimentality is what you’re about, you are going to be blown away!

Q & A’s – getting to know Red robyn

Q: When did you know you that you wanted to pursue the Arts?
A: I always knew [that] I wanted to be in the arts, from about 4/5 years old.
I always loved to draw, dance and sing. I come from a family [that] was always surrounded by music so it was an easy decision for me to make.

I’ve always loved how music and the arts can speak to hearts in a very personal way. I knew [that] I wanted to be able to bring healing to people through music and the arts. Now its just about being faithful to the journey as a full time artist.

Q: Why the stage name Red Robyn
A: My second name is Robyn, after my grandfather. His name was Robin which comes from the Robin bird. I’m obsessed with symbolism and meaning so I went searching for the meaning of the Robin Bird. I came across a story of the Red Robin Bird and how it supposedly got it’s colour from sitting on Jesus’ [peace and blessings upon him] head when he died. I thought it meant that there is beauty in everything and the name stuck with me. I just thought it would be a name that would always encourage me to be bold even though I may be small/ of little importance. (you’re going to touch the world I say)

I’m so deep about everything hahaha. I literally have a story and a reason for everything.

(How special is this?)

Q: Walk us through some of the struggles/ challenges you face as an upcoming artist

A: There has definitely been hard times. Currently, I am a full-time, free lance artist and it can be difficult financially as gigs don’t always pay very well. Being an independent artist also means that you are your own PR, your own manager, events coordinator and stylist you know .. its all you. It can be overwhelming sometimes to have to always believe in yourself and carry your own name. It definitely pays off though, nothing can replace all the lifelong friendships made and the people who have been impacted by the live gigs and the music online. I never thought even 50 people would listen to my music but I am constantly surprised by all the love. ( and here’s to plenty more love, light and support

She makes the struggle look beautiful

Q: What are some of the projects you’ve worked on and/or will be working on?

A: In the last few months I have been working on an experimental musical (film) with the AFDA ( South African school of Motion Picture medium and live performances) students of the Durban North branch. (Click Here to watch the trailer). I have also been working on a collaborative mix tape with my musical partner and boy friend, Jaedon Daniel ( def an awww moment) who is the founder of the BLVCK crystals. We also went up to Cape Town in March [2017] to record two brand new singles with Red Bull Studios CPT, that was probably the craziest coolest experience, a momentous time for both of our careers.

In the next few months I will be working on a solo album and a few more collabs , as well as a staged musical production.

( Well I simply cannot wait!)

Q: What are your future aspirations ( the answer to this was so inspiring)

A: My ultimate dream is to develop a syllabus that uses the 7 intelligence theory as a foundation for developing the strengths in students from as young as 5. I see my entire journey as an artist and musician as a road to developing and understanding purpose, that will then be put into practice through the development of the syllabus. I would also like to win a Grammy , just for just hahaha. Each day presents new challenges so I try not to expect anything but to rather be open to everything. I think purpose and destiny are the two things that keep me moving forward though.

Let’s wrap it up 

My say

If you had to ask me who Red Robyn is, I will tell you that she is a movement, a force to be reckoned with. 

Red Robyn, May your journey be fruitful and may you always remain as true, dedicated and humble as you are. Thank you for the wonderful opportunity of doing this feature on you. #bless

What an amazing feature and now you can understand why I am so excited about this piece.

Please show some love, you can gain access to the links of Red Robyn’s music by visiting her Facebook page @redrobynmusic


❤️ and 💡🌈 always from just an ordinary girl 

Leave a Reply

