Love, life & everything's else in between, motivation and inspiration, personal

#QOTD #29

logo

Mother Teresa once said:

If you want to change the world, Go home and love your family.

I came across this quote and it actually got me sitting and self-reflecting. It was for this reason that I had to share it.

The world is moving in a very different direction, a selfish one if I can. It’s moving away from sentimentality and more towards a superficial nature. The dynamic of family is no longer what it used to be and that is such a shame.

How many great memories do we have growing up? Do you think that our kids will have the same?

We often have big dreams in terms of the contributions we want to make to the world, starting up our own businesses, blogs, setting up NGO’s, plans to study or travel even. We spread messages of good will, positivity, love and unity  which is all fantastic, there is absolutely nothing wrong with that and kudos to you if you’re doing this because it is needed!

images (1)

Question is! do we put that much effort towards the goodwill of our family?

How many times do friends ask for a ride and we’re every ready to jump up and go. Yet, if our siblings or family member’s ask, we complain about fuel… 

How many times, do our folk call and ask us when we’re coming home to visit, and we’re like ” I’ve just been so busy, there’s just no time” yet, let our colleagues ask us to catch a drink and we’re ever ready and time avails itself… 

Or, how many times does your girl or wife ask you to spend some QT (quality time) and you be like “babe, i’m so tired” but minutes later you’re gaming or catching up on social media or better still, let your boys call and say they’re coming  over and the tiredness magically disappears…

Ladies, how many times does your significant other mention things to you but half of the time you don’t hear because you’re too interested in that conversation about Keyshia’s cousin who slept with Keyshia’s man… I hope you’re following me with this.

Doesn’t it make sense? That if we cant love our families, how do we expect to love strangers? 

If we cant appreciate the little things that they do for us, how do we expect to appreciate what the world has to give us? 

If we cant respect the people who we are constantly around, how do we expect to respect people we barely know and if we cant make time for our family, how can we for any other random person?

We have generations and generations which form part of our family trees right? and more that are still to be birthed. So what we do now and how we act now has a huge impact on the people that we will bring into this world right? It’s logic.

Imagine this, we love our families, we appreciate them, we support them , we invest in them and we encourage them. These attributes will get passed down to our kids, and their kids, and their kid’s kids etc. Creating a movement of love and light which we and they will automatically share with the world. If we all did this, don’t you think the world would be a better place? I think so.

images

They say that charity starts at home and I agree. The magnitude of a gesture or deed lies in the amount of heart put into it.  So let’s all make an effort to appreciate our parent’s, siblings, cousins, aunt’s, uncles, grandparents a little more than we do now. Make that cup of tea for your mom, kick that ball with your kids or nephews, draw with your nieces, catch a movie or sport with your cousins, have chill sessions with your siblings, go on date nights with your person of honour, call your folk or grand folks every now and then. It starts with you and I.

This quote really touched me and it almost felt like a wake up call because I am guilty of sometimes not loving and appreciating my family as much as I should.  You always hear me preaching about spreading love and light. So this is me beginning to put more of an effort into that and it starting with my family.

An epiphany from just an ordinary girl and that’s all thanks to Mother Teresa ♥️🙏🏼

Love, life & everything's else in between, personal

The truth behind the title 

tumblr_m66xbx4c9B1rqfn0so1_500_large

So day two of the Blogging fundamentals course (that I swore I will do until it is over, ‘coz I suck at sticking to these things) is to put some thought into your site identity; name, tag line etc. and then also to blog about the actual title and how it all started. The idea of the blog was actually a very good friend of mine’s idea, she always enjoyed my writing and really pushed me to set up a blog. 

She believes in me more than I do myself at times 🙈 S/O to my Zan Zan 🙂

So here’s my truth.

TAY TELLS was actually a title put together thanks to a group effort. ( no judgement)

My name is Tasneem and one of my nicknames is Tay. We then took into consideration that I didn’t just have one category that I wanted to blog about and so we sat and ran through names. I wanted my blog title to represent me but also to be catchy and something I would be proud of in the years to come. ( You know how we go through those weird phases and then regret most of the things years later, yeah! didn’t want that happening)

A good friend of mine suggested TAY TELLS (: and I was like “light bulb” moment for that idea (lol). It represented me and didn’t confine me to just one category or topic to blog about. #Bingo

Team work is everything lol.

The first part of the tag line was actually suggested by a very talented lyricist and beat-maker who happens to be a very good friend of mine. And trust him to come up with “time tells all, but tay tells too.” Such a talented bugger I tell ya and he knows what a chatterbox I am so it was really fitting.

So I was like D’star, I need a catchy tag line for my blog, this was after I had spent hours, if not days, trying to come up with something. I promise you, in less than 5 minutes of me asking him, he came up with it. I was envious yet grateful at the same time. Envious at how creative he was and in a such a short time too and grateful because that tag felt right, my struggle was over. #Angelssing

Yes yes, lol I did contribute something towards my tag, even if it was a small part, the second part of my tag line: “Authenticity is the ultimate sophistication.

I firmly believe in being yourself and being authentic and true to who YOU are, even if it doesn’t sit well with others. For me, that is #winning defined! It is indeed the ultimate sophistication and that’s the message I want to convey. I want to spread love and light by reminding us that we are enough and we are our own kind of beautiful and that we all have something special to offer the world, annnd lots more but i’m sure you get the picture.

So yeah, that’s the truth behind my site title and tag line. Not at all as interesting as I once thought telling this story would be, but that’s Tay Tells for you.

How did you come with yours?

Walking down memory lane with just an ordinary girl.