Food, Love, life & everything's else in between, motivation and inspiration, personal

The Chef’s Table: Capsicum diploma class of ’17 edition

Last year I was blown away when I attended my baby bro’s (well he’s not a baby anymore but he will always be our “boy”) banquet. I was amazed at the effort, team work and skill his class had. If you didn’t make it to read that post or see the pictures, click here

My boeta ❤️

This year was even more emotional. 

My brother is currently doing his diploma at the Capsicum Culinary Arts Studios here in Durban . They hosted their Chef’s Table on Friday, 26 May 2017 at their campus. He was chosen to be the head chef for the function and so this was a big deal for me. So much so that not even bronchitis could keep me from attending his special day.

You would have read in the piece I wrote last year, why seeing him do so well is such a great joy for my family and I and boy oh boy, there is no prouder sister than I. All I can do is keep praying that the almighty guides him and keeps him steadfast and keep thanking the almighty for this gift that he has blessed my baby brother with, because he is darn gifted when it comes to food!

Ok, enough with all the mooshy talk, 

look at the pictures of this year’s chef’s table. The class he has this year is a lot bigger than the class he was with last year. But that didn’t stop them from wowing us all. From the friendly welcome greets, to the nervous smiles, the team work and the delicious food, we experienced it all. It was evident that they put their hearts and souls into this evening In all hope that it would be a success.

IMG_7659
Winter wonderland was the theme
Chef Mags, their lecturer
Their table settings


Now brace yourself for the food!

IMG_7681
The starter

The starter was ” A taste of Harrismith” It was a salad comprised of a bed of rocket with beetroot, pomegranate seeds, biltong and their own mayonnaise which served as the dressing. I’m not a salad girl but my tile was cleaned out. Yes, you read right, they served us on these super cute hectagon tiles! How cute!!!


Each meal was paired with a non alcoholic drink. 

The main course

The main was ” lamb trio with veggies on a hill” this was lamb done three ways, with three different kinds of mushroom, a burnt onion, butternut and beetroot purée, and baby potatoes. This by far was something you’d eat / order at a top Restuarant! The flavours were amazing and the meal was presented beautifully, you almost didn’t want to indulge! 


We also had pallet cleanses in between, beautiful citrus flavours and jelly cleanser to allow us to appreciate all the flavours of the dishes to come 

The pallet cleanser

The dessert 🍨 was absolutely amazing. Guys I swear, I’m not being biased but we have amazing talent coming up in the Chef industry. The world isn’t ready I tell ya! 

Dessert 🍨

The dessert was “Brrrrrr” made up of panacota with orange infused short-bread crumble on a bed of a raspberry reduction with chocolate and strawberry and mini meringues. 

One would think that it was a lot going on and that the flavors would clash yeah?

Absolutely not, if anything, it was the total opposite! The flavours married together so well. I was truelly blown away.


The night ended off with games, laughter, heartfelt speeches and cheers from all who attended.

It was a ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ experience indeed🙏🏼♥️

This class should really be proud of themselves because I felt honoured being apart of this amazing evening that they prepared for.

Well done you guys! 

My brother and I
The head chef ( my brother ) and the sous chef
Some of his fellow class mates

Are you guys hungry yet? 

A proud post from just an ordinary proud big sissy 

Leave a Reply

