Girl power, Love, life & everything's else in between, motivation and inspiration, personal

Cakeday #March17th

Since Miks passing, I’ve never really celebrated my birthday with our birthdays being so close. So ironic because birthdays  are generally a big thing for me.

I do however, use this day to sit back and reflect on the past year. See what character / religious / career adjustments can be made. Sit and decide what worked for me and what didn’t work for me. This year will be no different.

I didn’t achieve wordly things in the past year. I’m still in the same position career wise, as I was last year. But I did achieve religious and character goals. I’ve put to bed some of the very influential demons in my life. I’ve got the answers I needed and I got to verbally say my truth. Confronted people who needed to be confronted and made an effort to physically remove the drama from my life. I’ve made a conscious effort to stop being such a push over and God did it feel good. I’ve blogged more and started writing my book. I’ve respected my mama more, achieved some weight loss and joined an amazing book club. Trying to do things that actually matter. I’ve also completed a year of mentoring and have successfully entered another year.

I’ve made some religious achievement. I read my Quran most days, previously I’d only read in our fasting month. I’ve worn my scarf more in the last year than I have in the last 5 and I’m working on praying more…..all this bythe almightys mercy and permission. The lesson I’ve learnt in the last year is firstly: 

  • success cannot be measured; by any one or anything. It is subject and you get to control what success means to you.
  • Spiritual/ religious achievements are just as, if not more fulfilling that wordly achievements.
  • How you feel matters!
  • Practice what you preach
  • Not everybody riding with you is willing to die for you, keep your circle small, keep it real

There’s tons of work I need to do for the forthcoming year. Which with the help of God I will do.

I just wanna take a moment to thank Allah, thank him for his unconditional love. For guiding me and protecting me even when I was and am unworthy of it. I want to take the time out to thank our creator for all the favors he has bestowed upon my life. I ask that he make me one of his most sincere and consistent servants. May he continue to bless those around me and help me with the transformations of my character and religious goals that I am aspiring towards. Shukr Allah for your infinite mercies. There really is none worthy of worship but you! 

To my family. Gawsh i sometimes look at you all and think “how do they do it”. I’m sometimes too much for my own self to handle and you guys do it so effortlessly. Shukran to each of you for your constant support. To my friends , my sisters , besties, you guys are the reason I am where I am today. My circle may be  very small but I’d have it no other way. You all are appreciated and I pray that my efforts to express my gratitude toward you guys let you know just how much you all mean to me.

Here’s to another year. May we all let God be the center of everything we do. 27 are you ready for me? Well that’s the question I’d like to ask but deep down I’m freaking out at how old I’m getting πŸ™ˆ

Happy 1st birthday to my car as well, my didi pops πŸ’ƒπŸ»πŸ’ƒπŸ»πŸ’ƒπŸ»πŸ’ƒπŸ»my ride or die, literally.

Happy St Patrick’s day to all and a very happy birthday to the many others born on this day 

Love and gratitude always

From just an ordinary birthday girl 

Leave a Reply

