Love, life & everything's else in between, motivation and inspiration, personal

Here’s to something new ๐Ÿ’‹

And so it is literally the final hours of 2016. How are you going to end the year off? Anything different from the previous years? Or rather, how are you going to start your New Year off. 

I’ve  never been one to party on New Years, solely because I can’t do crowded places with people who let alcohol consume their entirety including their logic. So it’s always been “sleep through the countdown and all” and wake up on New Years with a positive outlook and then just spend the day as normal. 

I guess it isn’t all that bad but something within me feels like I need change. I need to plot goals. Put a start to all the things my heart desires. Part of me feels like I’ve been inadequate and perhaps I just need to “lighten” up abit. 

New Year’s is a symbolic chance for change; a new beginning, new thought process, new outlook on life, new resolutions etc. In all honesty,  I’m yet to accomplish all of my resolutions I set out at the beginning of any year. #busted. I’ve achieved some and it felt great but I want to achieve it all.

This year I’m making a conscious effort to do something different and more meaningful. Something that I will remember. This year, at 00:00 I will be lighting a sky lantern, attaching to it a list of things that I am letting go of in order to make space for new achievements. I will be spending this new year with close friends and family in a back yard with the kids. 

I have rearranged my room and have put some effort into making it look “pretty”. 


I am starting my Banting lifestyle. I am reading more and I will sit and plan out all the projects I’m taking on and what’s needed from me. I’m setting new religious goals and wanting to get closer to the almighty, wear my scarf more, pray more, practice good faith, and love unconditionally.

It’s been no doubt one heck of a year. Work overload, weight issues, ex husband and his wife drama, A visit to my sons grave after 3 years. Personally, I think it’s a year where I got to do and express things that I never got the chance to in the past. Ive lost a lot of people but have gained such an amazing few. 2016 has confirmed, in the midst of its chaos, who my real friends are and there is no better feeling knowing people care for you sincerely! 

So use these last few hours, in a sober state, to reflect on what physical changes you’re going to make in the New year and do those very things. 

They say that insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different outcome. I concur. 


So let’s be the change, physically! 

Some advice and random thoughts of change from just an ordinary girl. 

Leave a Reply

