Love, life & everything's else in between, motivation and inspiration, personal

We are blessed 

They say that the most valuable gift you can give somebody is your time and I concur! 
Saturday Amy and I spent the day with work colleagues at the Durban child and youth care center. What an amazing and humbling experience! Thanks to our employer : Discovery Health, for being such a great force for social good! 



We tend to take so many things for granted and this became apparent to me when I was calling the kids to receive their gifts…I don’t know if it was their  excitement and impatient tendacy of ripping apart the wrapping, their eyes that widend and brightened up or their yells “aunty come see what I got (aunty? I know right, felt so old😭) that warmed by heart. 


It became even more apparent to me when we actually sat down and spoke with some of the older kids and listened to their life stories and also when we played, danced with and loved the littler ones… these kids literally have the “survivor of the toughest” outlook on life at such a young age.


…And then I wondered to myself: who gives us the right to complain about steak that’s not cooked properly? Or water that’s not room temperature. lol, and these kids are grateful for just the morning you sacrificed to be with them. We need to catch a wake up!

The one thing that intrigued me was that even with their struggles, they laughed and loved whole heartedly and sincerely and were so grateful and content.

I once again got my reality check. I once again looked at my life and realized how blessed I am and how grateful I should be for the things and people and connections that I have in life. 

If I can change the situation for Atleast one of these kids, I will be fulfilled! 2016 has been great because it is the year that I started making an effort to give back but 2017 is the year that I will make a more conscious effort to giving back to the community especially the kids; through my time. 

I have just 10 days left to visit Miks grave, with mixed emotions, this has just made me realize that even his loss was in fact a blessing in disguise… if I had him, I might not have had the time to make a difference in the lives of these kids .

Love and well wishes always

A dear post and warm smile from just an ordinary girl 

Leave a Reply

