community work, motivation and inspiration, personal

Girls rule but men rock! 

The post is dedicated to the very caring, kind and courageous men of Barracuda Road who helped me last night. It is also dedicated to my friends: Trish Kallee and Sherelle Rohan for all of the help, the calmness and reassurance. 

If you’re in the KZN region, many of you would have experienced the horror of driving on the roads yesterday. 

Let’s just say, that many of my colleague’s and I decided to remain at the office until the traffic calmed down coz’ what would generally take us 10 minutes to get onto our respective freeways, now took us hours. I got home just after 8pm.

We were all eventually asked to leave the building and so my friend ( Trish) and I decided we will drive together. Traffic was slow but it was moving.  It was crazy to see how backed up the traffic was but we soldiered on and had a jam session to make the best of that situation. 

I passed home to let my parents know that I’m safe, no surprise that the lights in the area were out.  Driving on, an idiot of a policeman  (hope he gets to read this) literally pushed me off the road and into a ditch. So he was driving up the road and I down, they were busy with road repairs and so the road was narrower than usual, this excuse for a cop kept giving me lights to move out the way so he could pass ( douche’) which I did because I had to get my friend home and it was too late for me to through my general tantrum.

I couldn’t move forward or back,  my phone battery was flat, my dad’s phone was off, my cousin who has a tow truck wasn’t available, my insurance, after 15 minutes of trying for road side assistance, never answer. . . And it was pitch black on the road!!!

A very kind gentlemen was on the road and he tried his best to assist me, if I’m correct his name is Justin ( thank you Justin). 

One of my very good friends was on his way to buy bread and he came to assist as well ( thank you Shane!  you left your umbrella in the car) . Next thing I know his wife , my day 1 (Sherelle) came out, in her pj’s might I add,  with a phone loaded with airtime so that I could make the necessary calls ( thank you so much Sherelle).

Then about 4 or 5 men ( super heros)  left their warm, cosy home’s to assist me in the cold. They literally picked my car up and got it out of that ditch. I was blown away and so in awe…I didn’t know these people ( I’m terrible I know, especially since they stay in the same road as I) yet they put every effort in assisting me. Craig, I hope I got your name right, thank you so much for coming out and helping me. The 3or 4 other uncles,  I appreciate all of the help that you guys offered me. May God bless you all abundantly. 

Experiencing this gave me hope, hope in our society. It reassured me that there are still good people out there. These men are from MY community…God how proud I am to say I’m from Newlands. The policeman, who I thought would have stopped and made sure us ladies were okay, drove off …. that’s a story for another day though because this post is to give thanks to these gents and to share this positive moment. 

We so often are quick to speak about the ills of our communities and I believe it is equally important to speak about the good and positive’s of our community and people as well.

Trish also had an incident on Friday with her tyre and a stranger stopped to help her as well. Big ups to that tow truck driver ( he didn’t even bill her)

Girls rule no doubt, but you men rock! Thank you guys and most importantly thank you to God for keeping his watchful eye over us at all times. 

Hope each and every one of you get to read this. 


Posted from: Just an ordinary girl

Leave a Reply

