Beauty, Girl power, personal

The Matrimony: MINNIE edition

image

So it’s back to reality! And with a heavy heart I left jhb Sunday!! What.A.Weekend.

It took me a week to draft this post,delayed indeed , but it was because I needed to make this post as perfect as I possibly could!.

From the time I landed and got picked up to from the airport till I got dropped off at the bus station to come home, I was welcomed warm-hearteldy and had one of THE bestest times evz! The wedding was beautiful, the folk were amazing and the food was to-die-for!

Ps: This is going to be a long post!

Everything finished off perfectly. ..but if you are one of those who think that movie scenes of pre-wedding activities going wrong are fabricated, perhaps after this post your perspective will change. I got to experience it first hand!!! And  I totally get bridezillas now… I really do!

So I got fetched from the airport in The Barney Ramon ,his bestman, Liam and One of his groomsmen ,Shane came to fetch me. such cool folk! I even got offered to experience what a bull party is all about ( yeap,  supposed to be his bestie n I didn’t even get an invite mxm!) And yes…Ramons head is still quite huge (payback!)we decided to make our way straight home though!

Got home and only Lucille was awake… gosh!I missed her. Gave her the biggest hug I could. I was so excited to meet everybody that I have heard so much about and BTW their home is B.E.A.U.T.I.F.U.L!

Woke up the Friday with much excitement. ..it was their official wedding day , their court wedding and I FINALLY got to meet Lori!

image
We ready to make it official
image
Lucille,Lori and I

Scheduled to get married at 10am, we decided leaving at 8:30 would be fitting because we still needed to get Ramons ring… I had now met everybody in the house, Aunty Maylene,Aunty Murial ( Ramon and Lucilles mums, Ramons mum I met before Tashy (Ramons older sis) and Tanya and Mikayla ( Lu and mons younger sissys! )I got to meet sheigh-lee, Such a beautiful and pleasant child and all of the other kids!

I was super stoked because finally my besty was tieing the knot.

Eagerly setting off and greeting everybody, we jump in the car and then…. it just didnt want to start #NotCool!!!!

Panick mode now, we made a couple of calls and Liam was on his way for us…we made it on time,got his Ring and ID photos and they were officially Mr and Mrs Minnie.

image

The Mr and Mrs and their Bridesmaid and Best man ( This is lori’ and liam)

image
Ramon,Lucille,Lori and Liam

She got papers on him!!
image

#Yikes!
image

The uncle who married them
image

At this point We were on a roll …and had shared all of the “to-do list” duties amongst the guys and the girls. Being one car Down already…Lori was going to take us and then the boys with Liam. We were good. We had our lists and were ready to get going well at least until…Lucille locked the car keys in Sherwyn’s ( Loris significant other ) car. #Hides…yeap car two down and a whole long list of things to do !!! This was actually happening!

Eventually, we all went to her place to get her car and the guys would go to fetch Sherwyn and get the spare key!

So we get there…and I meet everybody else, the Richards and the Montieres. What a beautiful family!!! And it turned out that they knew my family from both mum and dads side. #SmallWorldHey

Lori’s car was parked off and we get the garage remote…by this time we were WAAAY behind schedule. We still needed to get Luanes suit (Lucille ‘s son) we needed dresses for the bridesmaid, Mikayla and Tanya and a whole lot of other small but important things… just our luck…the garage door , that was recently fixed, didn’t want to open!!!!.like what was it with us and cars that day!

We got the car out and after several hours in Higate and Westgate mall we got what we needed. Returning home well after 7, we still had the Bride’s and Maid of honour’s dresses to fetch. We still had to drape and prep for the reception the next day and still had hair to do!.

Mikayla,Tanya and I
image

Us and Lucille,out and about shopping!
image

Actually got my nails did!
image

So we get the dresses and head on home and the chairs and tables were delivered to the incorrect address, it started pouring with rain and we couldn’t start the draping…12:30 am Lucille,Lori and I were driving around looking for grape juice for the communion the next day! Yeap! Beauty sleep clearly went out the window because eventually we all got home and slept around 2am… Lucille and I had some bonding time. We put our clay face masks on and off to sleep we went…believe me it was all worth it. But keep reading!

Ps: The church ceremony was scheduled for 8:30 am the Saturday morning.

Bright and early…the day we had all been anticipating, finally arrived. I had lucille’s,lori’s and Tanya’s hair to do…gawsh! where did two hours go because we were late! By almost 45 minutes! I hadn’t done my hair or make up and everybody else was done…I eventually dressed and skidaddled to the car…thinking I’d put my make up on in the church…ptsshhh #Foolishness

We got there and the ceremony started and so did the water works…not putting on make up actually worked in my favour. Lucille looked beautiful.Infact, that is an understatement by far! The bridesmaid’s and maid of honour and the groomsmen and bestman all looked perfect. Luane, Layla and Leighja (Ramon and Lucille s kids) looked too adorable. It was something so special to witness…it was emotional but good emotional.

Every minute of that service was special and every person in that church had something to think about after leaving. It was moving. It was beautiful. It was…. perfect!

image
Layla, leighja and Aunty Crystal
image
Kayla and Shane
image
Tanya and Sherwyn
image
Faizel and Charl
image
Liam and Lori

image
Luane walking mum Down the isle

image
Ncooh man!

image
They finally doing it
image
Their communion
image
Aunty Maylene and Aunty Muriel giving their kids away
image
Becoming one 🙂
image
When they said they do
image
Official in the eyes of God
image
Dad (Uncle Neville)and son

N so the ceremony ended. And it was picture time…I didn’t get to take any but that was because Aunty Crystal, Aunty Maureen and I decided it was best we actually started setting up for the reception. But, here are a few pics.

image
The Minnie 's and their kids
image
Tashy,Tanya,Lucille,Ramon&Kayla
image
Lucille and her bridesmaids
image
Ramon and his groomsmen
image
Kayla,Tashy,Aunty Maylene,Shay,Tyler,Leighja,Layla, Luane #Gawjussnesss
image
Aunty Muriel and her daughters
image
Ramon and his girlies

Because we started late. Our time was limited! We left the church almost 11:30 and the guests were to arrive for the reception at 14:30. (We hadn’t even dressed A chair!)

We all dressed into something more comfy and then it all began. From carrying tables to dressing chairs and working on table arrangements. . .every thing was taking form.

image
The main table by Aunty Crystal
image
The set-up , we did it outselves

At 14:30 we decide to go and freshen up…but other technical errors occurred and well we ran about 2 hours later. But we started nevertheless. The speeches were heart-felt! And yes! I cried again…lol i haven’t cried that much in ages. I chose not to give my speech because we were already so behind.

The food was amazing. Charl-anne really out did herself and Nadia and her savouries were out of this world. We had tons of fun. We did all the Novelties of cutting the cake, which Lori baked and decorated all by herself, and first dances and wedding March. I had a ball. Everybody had a ball. The night ended and Lu,Ramon,Faizel (Nadias brother and one of the groomsmen)Nadia, Charl-anne, Bradz (their hilarious cousin) and myself sat and spoke and laughed until we couldn’t anymore.

image
The wedding cake by Lori
image
Cutting the cake

image

image
The first dance
image
Mum and son dance
image
Dad dancing with his girls
image
Mum dancing with her girls

image
Bestman jazzing with his niecey

image
Nadia and I

image
Cray cray

image

image
Bradz and Sherry (Nadia 's daughter)
image
Blurry duck lips
image
Mr and Mrs in cartoon form
image
Brother and sister
image
Beautiful soul...and old timer#hahahah
image
Brads and Sherry

They say that marriage unites two families… this union united more than that and thats because this couple is so amazing.

We had a ball. We danced and laughed. Aunty Maylene,Tashy,Aunty muriel , Tanya, kayla,and all the kids made my stay so much more exciting and home-like. Setting up with Aunty Crystal , Aunty Maureen and the boys was so much of fun.Aunty Muriel (Lucille’s mother)is strength personified AND she made me do her hair and make up… how fortunate was I! And meeting “Gran” Aunty Loraine was so precious because she reminds me so much of my Mar Una…you really would never say that that family is not blood related to Ramon and Lucille. They are all just simply amazing

Seeing my bestie so happy and all grown up warmed my heart and I know he made the right choice marrying Lucille. . .I love you long time my Mon Bon, Of all the girlfriends we went through…she Def ranks number 1. I’ve seen them grow from strength to strength. Their hearts are so big and they give me hope. They are simply amazing and one of God’s gifts to me.

Sunday was a sad day… I didn’t wanna leave and seeing Lucille cry was just heartbreaking. Faizel ,bradz and Sherwy were there bright and early and with a heavy heart I left.

image
On the bus home

It was by far one of,If not THE best and busiest weekend of the year!

Beautiful peeples. Beautiful food I mean what more do u need to turn up???

Wishing the bride and groom years and years and years of success. Love. Prosperity and God! And Thank you to every body who made this weekend happen. You guys rock awesome! Loads of love

Thank You Lucille and Ramon for allowing me to be apart of yourls lives and so actively involved in the wedding. Love u guys so much.

image
Perfection personified

Posted from Just an ordinary girl

4 thoughts on “The Matrimony: MINNIE edition”

  1. Absolutely stunning wedding and review, you got every moment to the T 🙂 it was so awesome meeting you Tazz, you’re very special to us, we have to meet up again some time

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for reading hunny 🙂 and thank u so much for those kind words. Meeting you guys was really something else and yes! We definitely need to…you guys WILL see me again 🙂 send my love to all xoxoxoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

